Cranial Nerve V Trigeminal

The trigeminal nerve is responsible for supplying sensation to the face, the nasal and buccal mucosa, and the teeth. The motor division supplies the muscles of mastication. The three major subdivisions of the trigeminal nerve are the ophthalmic, the maxillary, and the mandibular. These divisions are illustrated in Figure 21-10.

The ophthalmic division supplies sensation to the frontal sinuses, the conjunctiva, the cornea, the upper eyelid, the bridge of the nose, the forehead, and the scalp as far as the vertex of the skull. The maxillary division supplies sensation to the cheek, the maxillary sinus, the lateral aspects of the nose, the upper teeth, the nasal pharynx, the hard palate, and the uvula. The mandibular division supplies sensation to the chin, the lower jaw, the anterior two thirds of the tongue, the lower teeth, the gums and floor of the mouth, and the buccal mucosa of the cheek. The motor division innervates the muscles of mastication and the tensor tympani.

The examination of the trigeminal nerve consists of the following:

Testing the corneal reflex Testing the sensory function Testing the motor function

Was this article helpful?

0 0
How To Deal With Rosacea and Eczema

How To Deal With Rosacea and Eczema

Rosacea and Eczema are two skin conditions that are fairly commonly found throughout the world. Each of them is characterized by different features, and can be both discomfiting as well as result in undesirable appearance features. In a nutshell, theyre problems that many would want to deal with.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment